The Fairy and the Three Musketeers

Standard

Alexandre Dumas’ novel The Three Musketeers is one of my favorite stories ever read. Even as a child,  the cartoon version of the novel was one of my favorites to watch. I was so engrossed with the swash-buckling scenes, the humour and the plot of the novel.

After years came the newest Three Musketeers movie.  The last movie was shown 1993, and I don’t remember watching this as a kid. (I even don’t remember if I ever heard of that movie)

The Three Musketeers 1993

Then came the 2011 movie. I’m thrilled! Thanks to our kind office-IHG– who gave us free tickets to the movie! Yey! I got the Sunday screening as I am on night shift on weekdays.

The Three Musketeers 2011

The day of the screening at Rockwell, I was sick. What the heck. How can I  appreciate it when I have slight fever,rashes, my nose-running-like crazy?! Oh well, I said to Vince, we cannot miss it.

True enough, the movie was interesting from beginning to end. It’s a story fitted for the new generation. The plot stayed true to the original novel but had new twists, the characters acting naturally.The wardrobe all designed modernly. It made me want to try out those lovely corset gowns they wore at the movie (costume party anyone?!)

The flamboyant scene of The Three Musketeers

The movie ran for a  about 1 hour and 5o minutes.  There were moments of laughter so I didn’t get bored and I forgot I was sick. I missed watching Athos, Porthos, Aramis and D’ Artagnan in action. Though reviews were not so favorable of the movie, I’d say I liked it. I may be biased towards this particular movie, but I was really glued to it. 🙂

After the movie, we strolled a bit. I asked him to take a shot of me and my outfit for that movie date. I wore a floral dress with ruffled sandals . This is one of my comfy look when i don’t really feel at my best but wanted to still look presentable. I just paired it  with a wooden round earrings that matched my sandals.

My look at the Three Musketeers movie

We had dinner at Grams Diner after strolling. The restaurant boasts of comfort food menu. According to reviews, they have big servings. So off we went and tried the restaurant. It looks like a typical American Diner.

Grams Diner Logo

I ordered fried fish fillet in garlic while bf had 2-piece crunchy chicken. While waiting for our order, we watched tv hanging at the corner of the restaurant. Then came our dinner!

Calamari for appetizer

Fried Fish Fillet in Garlic

The crunchy chicken

The food was okay. I don’t know if it is because i don’t feel well or it’s really the food I don’t really feel. I think the fish fillet was salty. Again, I do not want to put a verdict on their menu because I am sick.

Anyways, we just enjoyed the dinner while  taking some shots at the place.

While waiting for the food

After Dinner

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

