Mastering Make-up at MUD Manila

Standard

There are many techniques one can do while applying make-up. I am one of those who learned applying make-up from my gut feel and what I know would be the easiest.  I have not even watched videos of different how-tos. I try to get tips once in awhile and each time I apply make-up, I always wonder is this the right way?

Then came my chance to enroll in a make-up class. Special thanks to Belle de Jour Power Planner, who have included a whopping 50% discount of Make-up Designory Manila (MUD) classes on their list of amazing coupons.

MUD logo

I managed to secure a slot on I believe was their last Personal Make-up class for 2013 at Purebeauty, Serendra. I only paid Php 4, 900 due to the 50% off discount. Classes starts at 10 am and we were told to bring our make-up essentials for that day’s make-up class.

MUD at Purebeauty

After some minutes, we started our class with 7 students plus the MUA. It was very personalized since the classes they have will only allow maximum of 10 students.

My classmates for the day

Ms. Hannah Roa was our make-up instructor for the day’s class. She is a graduate of MUD herself.  She went to class with no make-up also. Ms. Hannah started with the basics, checking on us if we have the make-up needed to complete each look. Then she taught us how to find the perfect shade of liquid foundation, concealer and face powder for our skin. She would go to our areas one by one  to check which was really good. She even moved her table in the middle so she could reach all of us. It was indeed personalized.

Listening to Ms. Hannah while she checks our cosmetics one by one

My so useful Bdellium Brushes

I had to write notes  while we were taught how to apply day make-up and  pull off a smokey night make-up.

We had the first 4 hours of our 8-hours class with the basics and the day make-up.

Getting started with day make-up

My make-up stuff and my daytime look

After lunch, we proceeded to applying night make-up which involves learning smoky eyes. I have always wanted to learn the simple yet proper steps in doing so.  I was really excited since my palette had too many colors and I did not even know if I was applying them properly.

Part of the class were learning to apply contour, highlight and blush which I think was really cool! I did not know the importance of these until I learned how and had seen them on me.

My subtle smoky eye for night look

I am satisfied that I was able to learn the proper techniques and even tips from the professional. The class ended a little past 6:30 pm and Ms. Hannah was gracious enough to answer all our queries. She even helped me pick the nearest concealer shade  to my skintone as we had 15% discount on all MUD products that day(what a great deal!).

Makeup Class Picture

The class gave me more confidence that I am able to prep myself up for special occasions and even  extend my knowledge to close people willing to get themselves pretty under my care. ♠

Leave a Reply

